FAVORITE SONGS IN ANIME

Anime openings and endings are quite popular among people in the anime community. Besides the plot, character, art style, and the overall concept, anime openings and endings start and finish the perfect anime. I’ve found a lot of very good anime openings and endings on YouTube and watching anime and I’m going to share some of mine with you. In no particular order, here is my favorite songs in anime.

  1. To start off this list, my all-time, never-get-tired anime song is Re:Re: (Single Version) by: Asian Kung-Fu Generation. I instantly fell in love with this opening song the first time I heard it on Boku Dake ga Inai Machi. That long instrumental of guitar, bass, drums, and whatever instrument that are playing, at the beginning creates this awesome build-up to the main part in the song. I don’t know a lot about Asian Kung-Fu Generation or their singers, but I know they’re quite famous when it comes to anime openings and endings. I love the main lead singer’s voice that matches so well with this song. I will never get tired of this song and whenever I listen to this song, a creepy, happy smile appears on my face. Scary? No? Anyways, this is probably my favorite anime song by far.
  2. The next song on this list is from Gintama, Sakura Mitsutsuki by Spyair. Gintama has a lot of episodes and a lot of openings and I’m sure this is one of the most popular one from this anime. I love the electric guitar intro at the beginning and then we hear the singers soft but strong voice. It brings shivers to my spine. This is my favorite Spyair song and I never get tired of this song. The chorus is catchy and you can hear the strong emotions from his voice. I honestly don’t know what he’s saying but I love it nonetheless. The good thing about Spyair that I absolutely love is their guitar, instrumental solo. It’s amazing and shows how talented this J-Rock band is. Overall, I love Spyair!
  3. Hey, hey Samurai Heart! (x2). Another song from Gintama? Of course, it is! This is my favorite ending from Gintama and it is Samurai Heart (Some Like it Hot!) by Spyair. The chanting of Hey, hey Samurai Heart! in beginning always have me chanting along. I think Spyair can do no wrong when singing anime songs because this is an awesome song with strong vocal, incredible instrumental skills, and overall build-up that perfectly matches Gintama’s concept. Just watching that ending playing this song was freakin’ epic.
  4. By the end of 2015, this was one of the best opening songs in anime and it is Brave Shine by Aimer. This song is the opening to Fate/Stay Night: Unlimited Blade Works second season, and was it everything. When I heard this opening, I was absolutely obsessed with it and had to download it right away. I searched everywhere for this song because I wanted to hear it every day and night. I love Aimer’s voice and she perfectly sang this song to perfection. My favorite is the chorus, that damn, awesome chorus. You can hear how the verses build-up to the chorus and it gets my heart racing.
  5. I enjoyed watching Kyoukai no Kanata and it became one of my favorite anime and I love the ending song even more. It is Daisy by Stereo Dive Foundation. I love that special effect at the beginning and that was what drew me in. The ending was super sad and together with this song, I was crying like a baby. This is a nice, mellow, simple song with so much feeling and emotions. I never had the will to next this song whenever it plays and then I remember scenes from the anime…my eyes are tearing up… Anyways, is it possible to love a song so much? I don’t know but this is one of the best.
  6. If you knew me personally and know what kind of anime’s I watch, sports wouldn’t be your first choice. I believe two months ago, I was in an anime slump and I wanted to watch something new and different from other anime’s I usually watched. So I saw Haikyuu!! and decided to watch it. I am so happy that I gave it a chance and this awesome anime became one of my favorites. When I saw that second opening and this song, Fly High!! by Burnout Syndromes, began playing, it was perfect. If you watched the anime before, you can relate and know what I’m talking about. Kurasano started off at the top but fell to the bottom. As Shoyo and Kageyama and the other first years joined the volleyball team, they strived to fly again. This song was perfect. Sorry, spoiler alert.
  7. I only watched the first episode of Guilty Crown but I don’t have to watch the whole series to say that I like this song. My Dearest by Supercell is, I think, a quite popluar song in the anime community. I didn’t realise how long it was when I heard the whole thing. This song has a blend of everything, nice slow singing that leads to a strong chorus. It’s an iconic song.
  8. I was looking through Asian Kung-Fu Generation’s songs on ITunes and stumbled along this song, Rewrite by Asian Kung-Fu Generation. I had heard of this song before but didn’t know where it came from until I did a little bit more research. I haven’t watched the original Fullmetal Alchemist, but I started watching Brotherhood. It was thanks to this rock band that introduced me to J-Rock. I like how it starts off with a “lazy” feeling and then bam! You hear the singer’s strong voice when he sings the chorus. Only he could pull that off.
  9. Bakemonogatari is a popular anime and this ending is pretty awesome. The song is Kimi no Shiranai Monogatari by supercell. I felt like I knew this song before I watched the anime and I instantly loved this song. I’m not sure why I like this song but it’s catchy tune and simple melody got me humming along.

Honorable mentions: Chains by Back-on, Masayume Chasing by BoA, Bravely You by Lia, Alones by Aqua Timez, Ebb and Flow by Ray, Harukaze by Scandal, Imagination by Spyair, Chu Bara by Kelun, Kyouran Hey Kids!! by The Oral Cigarettes, rainy tone by (K)NoW_NAME, Renegade by SDF, Tetsukazu no Kanjou from Tonari no Kaibutsu-kun, Velonica by Aqua Timez, Yoru no Kuni by Annabel, and the Dango song from Clannad.

(Pictures are from a screenshot from my apple music playlist on my phone)

Leave a Reply

