WHAT THE HEART WANTS.

I received an email a couple of weeks ago saying I won a Goodreads giveaway. I immediately opened the email and it said I won a copy of Wintersong by S. Jae-Jones. I was beyond ecstatic and so blessed because I would’ve never believed I would win in any giveaways, especially a book that a lot of people had already entered for. As soon as I got it from the mail, I immediately began reading the book and so far, I’m falling in love. I haven’t finished it yet but I am being compelled and enchanted. But this is not the main point of this post: whenever I read a really good book with an incredible story and addicting characters that make me what to meet them in real life, my heart decides to split in half and have a mind of its own.

One side of my heart wants to keep reading the book, to find out what happens next and who falls in love with who. I just can’t stop reading and I just want to know more. This is usually the case with a series. For example, I was obsessed with the Kate Daniels series and I didn’t stop reading until I was at the seventh book. I know that if I keep on reading the book, I have another book to read. If I finish the first book, the second book is right there and available to me to start where I left off from. Usually, whenever I read books, this side of my heart wins.

On the other hand, the other side of my heart tells me to stop and take a break because it knows the book will end and nothing will follow after. That is what is happening to me right now as I’m reading Wintersong. I looked up on Goodreads and found out it has no sequel. I really want to read it and finish the book but once I finish it, the story ends. The beautiful movie playing in my head stops, the characters stop acting and the story ends. It’s bittersweet and my heart can’t take the pain. This usually tends to happen with books that have no sequel or books that have sequels but those sequels won’t be released until a decade later. So my heart is telling me to take a break because my heart can’t take no more awesomeness. I just want the story to never end, is that too much to ask for?

Now, I’m kind of getting off topic but have you ever read a book that just makes your heartache, like physically and not in your heads? Well, I have and I rarely have this feeling unless the story has a heart-wrenching scene or I have connected to the book in some sort of way. My heart just aches for the characters and I think I could feel their pain as they pain in the story. I sometimes forget that these characters aren’t real and then I begin to feel sad because they aren’t real…Anyways, I really love and enjoy reading books. I just wish the story in some of my favorite books would never end.

Extra stuff I’m adding onto this post:

  • If you haven’t checked out Wintersong, here is the link: Wintersong (Disclaimer: I’m not promoting this book or been asked by the author or Goodreads to promote this book. I’m just really enjoying this book. Also, it won’t be out until February of 2017 😉

wintersong (picture from Goodreads)

Leave a Reply

